PCM Logger XML

They go by many names, P01, P59, VPW, '0411 etc . Circa 1999 to 2006. All VPW OBD2 PCMs.
User avatar
Gampy
Posts: 1156
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 7:38 am

Re: PCM Logger XML

Post by Gampy »

Will throttle position have a value with key on engine off ??
i.e. On the bench ... I have no way to simulate a running engine yet.

If not is there a way to force a value there ??
Feed the beast, the beast gets bigger, DON'T FEED THE BEAST!
bubba2533
Posts: 170
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:50 am
cars: 03 Chevy S10 Turbo V6

Re: PCM Logger XML

Post by bubba2533 »

Yes, no need to have the engine running.
LS1 Boost OS: If you have Questions about the current release post Here. If you have feature suggestions post in the Development Thread
bubba2533
Posts: 170
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:50 am
cars: 03 Chevy S10 Turbo V6

Re: PCM Logger XML

Post by bubba2533 »

Ah, I messed up. I had to Open the profile again. It's working now.

Now I just need to figure out what Ram Parameters to add.
LS1 Boost OS: If you have Questions about the current release post Here. If you have feature suggestions post in the Development Thread
bubba2533
Posts: 170
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:50 am
cars: 03 Chevy S10 Turbo V6

Re: PCM Logger XML

Post by bubba2533 »

I'm not sure if that's how it's supposed to work or not.

It would be nice if the Ram parameters would show up in the list.
LS1 Boost OS: If you have Questions about the current release post Here. If you have feature suggestions post in the Development Thread
User avatar
Gampy
Posts: 1156
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 7:38 am

Re: PCM Logger XML

Post by Gampy »

bubba2533 wrote:Ah, I messed up. I had to Open the profile again. It's working now.
Yes, I found that out, noted it in an edit above. Some sort of bug in the loading ...

Yea, I don't understand why Parameters.RAM are not in the list, I'm sure there is a reason, I just don't know what it is.
Heck, for all I know I may be using it wrong ...

Do you get a value ??
All I get is hot air! (0.00) ... It could be my setup.
I do get others from Standard that look right.

So, for clarity ...
When editing Parameters.Standard.xml, Parameters.Math.xml, Parameters.RAM.xml, PCMLogger needs to be started/re-started to load them.
Then you need to select your log profile ... even though it remembers it, it doesn't reload it correctly!

WARNING! If you select a Parameter from the Parameters list, it will wipe out your hand edited addition to your LogProfile.
Feed the beast, the beast gets bigger, DON'T FEED THE BEAST!
bubba2533
Posts: 170
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:50 am
cars: 03 Chevy S10 Turbo V6

Re: PCM Logger XML

Post by bubba2533 »

Yep I just discovered that it removes the added parameters. There is definitely something wrong.

Hopefully NSFW will see this and fix whatever is causing this. Current work around is just having to add everything to your .LogProfile manually and open it after loading PcmLogger

Edit: yes I get good values that track right along with SAE PID for throttle position.
LS1 Boost OS: If you have Questions about the current release post Here. If you have feature suggestions post in the Development Thread
User avatar
Gampy
Posts: 1156
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 7:38 am

Re: PCM Logger XML

Post by Gampy »

Yup, it is raw and still in pre beta stage after all ... He is without car so development is slow.

Maybe we should start a GoFundMe account to get him a motor so he can get back on track ... physically, thus in development! :thumbup:
bubba2533 wrote:Edit: yes I get good values that track right along with SAE PID for throttle position.
Bummer, I guess I'm doing something wrong ...

If I can get a reliable test method, I will work on the logger, just to much testing to expect others to do for me.
I am looking for something LS powered for a test mule ...
Feed the beast, the beast gets bigger, DON'T FEED THE BEAST!
Post Reply